Settings
Theme
Timezone
Time Display
OPEN SOURCE INTELLIGENCE — PUBLIC BULLETIN — SOUTH AFRICA & REGION — FORGE MAP ARCHIVE
Open data · free · no account

Records

Every pin on the map, as a table you can filter and download. Each row is an incident reported in the news, filed under one of the map's streams (Crime & Security, Infrastructure, Priority Intelligence, Africa & World), that FORGE checked by hand and the owner approved before it went on the map. Nothing here is behind a paywall or a sign-in.

Read this before using the data

  • These are hand-checked news reports of incidents across the map's streams, not statistics. They are not complete and not representative of everything that happens in any area.
  • Most rows rest on a single report or on police statements repeated by several outlets; see reporting_independence.
  • Map points are approximate. uncertainty_m says how far off a point can be, and location_basis says when a point is inferred or estimated rather than reported.
  • Reports can be wrong or change after publication. Check the source links before relying on any row.
Download all 72 (CSV) JSON Data version d2beb0a · built 24 Oct 2026 02:59 UTC
Filter and sort

72 records

Incident Stream When Map point Reporting Sources Map
Beitbridge border post (approx.): North West businessman charged 21 Oct as co-accused over two Absa-financed cars intercepted in Jul Limpopo
Where exactly

South African border control at the Beitbridge port of entry, outside Musina, where police intercepted the two vehicles on 22 July (Limpopo Mirror; Review Online). The pin is the OpenStreetMap border-control point on the South African side, inside the Musina police precinct outline; where on the post the vehicles were stopped is not reported. The October charge and the court appearance (Musina Magistrate's Court) were not at this point.

Priority Intelligence Charged Wed 21 Oct 2026; first court appearance Thu 22 Oct 2026 (Limpopo Mirror). The interception alleged dates from 22 Jul 2026, three months earlier, and is not the pin date. later step in an older case Earliest report found: 2026-10-22 Spot, within 1,500 m One account, repeated Rests on: SAPS (Brig Athlenda Mathe) and NPA Limpopo (Mashudu Malabi-Dzhangi), reported by Limpopo Mirror and Review Online 2 conflicting facts
  1. limpopomirror.co.za
  2. citizen.co.za
View on map →
Martinique village, Villa Nora police area (approx.): woman, 35, shot dead; police sergeant suspect later found dead, 21 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

Martinique village, in the Villa Nora police area (police, via TimesLIVE). No address. TimesLIVE's opening line says Abbotspoort village, but its own account places the shooting in Martinique; the owner chose Martinique (22 Oct). The pin is the Martinique village point on OpenStreetMap, inside the Villa Nora police precinct; approximate, village level (about 3 km). The suspect's body was found later at Botshabelo Section, Tom Burke police area; that place is not pinned.

Crime & Security Wed 21 Oct 2026; time not given (police, via TimesLIVE and Limpopo Chronicle) Earliest report found: 2026-10-22 Village, within 3,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Limpopo, quoted by TimesLIVE and retold by Limpopo Chronicle 1 conflicting fact
  1. timeslive.co.za
  2. limpopochronicle.co.za
View on map →
Tafelsig, Mitchells Plain (Paulsberg St, approx.): barber shot dead inside his shop, 20 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Inside a barbershop in Paulsberg Street, Tafelsig (police, via Cape Times). Shop not located. The pin is the middle of Paulsberg Street in OpenStreetMap (way 32214287); it marks the street, not the shop.

Crime & Security Tue 20 Oct 2026 at about 20:07 (police statement, via Cape Times) Earliest report found: 2026-10-21 Street, within 500 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Western Cape, quoted by Cape Times (IOL)
  1. iol.co.za
View on map →
Steenberg (Military Rd, approx.): two men, 23 and 37, shot dead; five arrested after chase, 20 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Military Road, Steenberg (SAPS statement, quoted via Cape Times). Exact spot not given. The pin marks the shooting only, not Kirstenhof (where the car was abandoned) or Lakeside (where the arrests reportedly were). The pin is a point on Military Road in Steenberg (OpenStreetMap way 316992334), the owner's choice of two Military Road points about 114 m apart; no source gives anything finer than the road.

Crime & Security Tue 20 Oct 2026, at about 12:30 (SAPS statement on X; Cape Times, Smile 90.4FM and Briefly News give the same time) Earliest report found: 2026-10-20 Street, within 1,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Western Cape statement posted on X (20 Oct 2026, 15:15 SAST), quoted by Cape Times (IOL), Smile 90.4FM and Briefly News 1 conflicting fact
  1. iol.co.za
  2. smilefm.co.za
  3. briefly.co.za
View on map →
Valhalla Park (Angela St, approx.): man, 21, found stabbed in water, 20 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Angela Street, Valhalla Park (police, via Daily Voice); in a vlei or canal. The spot on the water is not given. The pin is the middle of Angela Street in OpenStreetMap (way 30690124), which OSM labels Nooitgedacht/Elsies River; the street also holds the Valhalla Park Community Centre. It marks the street, not where the body lay.

Crime & Security Body found Tue 20 Oct 2026 at about 07:04 (police, via Daily Voice and TygerBurger). 07:04 is the discovery time; no source gives when he was killed. time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-20 Street, within 1,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Western Cape, quoted by Daily Voice and TygerBurger 1 conflicting fact
  1. dailyvoice.co.za
  2. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Bhekiswayo Trust, Masoyi (area only, approx.): man, 30, dies after shoot-out with police; police are a party, 20 Oct Mpumalanga
Where exactly

At his parental home in Masoyi; he lived at Bhekiswayo Trust (police, via Lowvelder). No address. Bhekiswayo Trust was not found in the place-name lookups; the pin is the Masoyi residential-area point on OpenStreetMap, inside the Masoyi police precinct; approximate, area level (about 6 km). It is not the home.

Crime & Security Tue 20 Oct 2026; time not given. He died later at a medical facility; the date of death is not stated (police, via Lowvelder; SAPS Mpumalanga statement of 21 Oct) Earliest report found: 2026-10-21 Area, within 6,000 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Mpumalanga (media statement of 21 Oct), quoted by Lowvelder
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
Strandfontein (Korvette Rd, approx.): man, 26, found shot dead, 19 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

In front of a property in Korvette Road, Strandfontein (police, via Cape Argus). House not given. The pin is a street-level marker for Korvette Road (OpenStreetMap), kept where the builder put it on the owner's decision; it marks the road, not any building or house.

Crime & Security Mon 19 Oct 2026, found when police responded at about 20:45 (police, via Cape Argus and TygerBurger). 20:45 is the response and discovery time, not a shooting time; no source gives one. time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-20 Street, within 500 m All from police statements Rests on: Police: Lt-Col Frederick van Wyk (Cape Argus: 'police spokesperson'; TygerBurger: 'commander of the provincial media centre'), quoted by TygerBurger and Cape Argus
  1. novanews.co.za
  2. iol.co.za
View on map →
Athlone (Bokmakierie St and 7th Ave): man, 35, shot dead in a car, 19 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Inside a vehicle at the corner of Bokmakierie Street and 7th Avenue (police, via Daily Voice; Heart FM). The pin is the shared node of the two streets in OpenStreetMap.

Crime & Security Mon 19 Oct 2026 at about 13:25 (police statement, via Daily Voice and Crime Scene Report). SABC News and Megazone say Monday night. Earliest report found: 2026-10-20 Spot, within 150 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Western Cape, quoted by Daily Voice, SABC News, Heart FM and Crime Scene Report 1 conflicting fact
  1. dailyvoice.co.za
  2. sabcnews.com
  3. heartfm.co.za
  4. news-stuff.co.za
View on map →
Central, Gqeberha (Russell Rd, approx.): man, 52, shot dead in his car, 19 Oct Eastern Cape
Where exactly

Outside a corner shop in Russell Road, Central, Gqeberha (police, via The Herald). Exact shop not named. The pin is a point on Russell Road in Central (OpenStreetMap way 30696735), the owner's choice of two Russell Road points about 48 m apart; no source gives anything finer than the road.

Crime & Security Mon 19 Oct 2026, at about 12:50 (police, via The Herald and PE Express; Algoa FM: shortly before 1 pm) Earliest report found: 2026-10-20 Street, within 1,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Eastern Cape, quoted by The Herald, Algoa FM and PE Express 1 conflicting fact
  1. theherald.co.za
  2. algoafm.co.za
  3. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Musina (map point estimated): one arrested over R1.5m in illicit cigarettes; police allege a syndicate, leader at large, 19 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

ESTIMATED MAP POINT. Premises in Musina suspected of being used to store illicit cigarettes (police, via Limpopo Mirror); the premises and street are not identified. The pin is the Musina SAPS station point (in-repo gazetteer), used only as a reference within the town and kept off the Musina town point used by the township low-water pin. Uncertainty about 5 km. Not the premises.

Priority Intelligence Arrest and seizure on Mon 19 Oct 2026; time not given (police, via Limpopo Mirror). Court appearance expected Wed 21 Oct. Earliest report found: 2026-10-21 Town, within 5,000 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Limpopo (Col Malesela Ledwaba, provincial spokesperson), quoted by Limpopo Mirror
  1. limpopomirror.co.za
View on map →
Polokwane International Airport: five airport police accused, arrested from 19 Oct, over 46 undocumented nationals who vanished in Apr 2025 Limpopo
Where exactly

Polokwane International Airport, where the arrests were made and where the officers are stationed (Review Online). The pin is the airport's own map point (OpenStreetMap aerodrome); where on the airport the arrests happened is not reported. The alleged April 2025 incident happened elsewhere: a roadside stop on the N1 near Polokwane and the Polokwane N1 weighbridge. That place is not pinned.

Priority Intelligence Arrests on the evening of Mon 19 Oct 2026 (three, per the corrected police statement; five accused had been arrested by 21 Oct); court appearance and bail on Tue 20 Oct 2026. The conduct alleged dates from Fri 17 Apr 2025, about 18 months earlier, and is not the pin date. later step in an older case Earliest report found: 2026-10-19 Spot, within 2,500 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Limpopo (Deputy Provincial Commissioner Maj Gen Mashaba and Provincial Commissioner Lt Gen Jan Scheepers), reported by Review Online; the 20 and 21 Oct items are police press releases 2 conflicting facts
  1. citizen.co.za
  2. citizen.co.za
  3. citizen.co.za
View on map →
Adshade Street bridge over the R71, Tzaneen (approx.): burst asbestos water main, repair waiting on a pipe from Cape Town, reported 19 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

Near the Adshade Street bridge over the R71 in Tzaneen (Letaba Herald). The pin is the middle of Adshade Street from OpenStreetMap, inside the Tzaneen police precinct; the exact spot where the street crosses the R71 could not be read from the map. Approximate, street level (about 800 m).

Infrastructure Burst date not stated; repairs were under way and incomplete when reported on Mon 19 Oct 2026 (Letaba Herald). The pin date is the report date. report date: when it happened is not stated Earliest report found: 2026-10-19 Street, within 800 m One report only Rests on: Greater Tzaneen Municipality DA councillor Chrisma Bredenkamp, quoted by Letaba Herald
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
St Montague Village (St Alexander Circle and St Christopher Ave): two men shot dead, 18 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Corner of St Alexander Circle and St Christopher Avenue, St Montague Village (Southern Mail). The pin is the midpoint between the nearest nodes of the two streets in OpenStreetMap (ways 701190631 and 30631994, about 30 m apart).

Crime & Security Sun 18 Oct 2026, police responded at about 18:30 (police, via Southern Mail) Earliest report found: 2026-10-20 Spot, within 150 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Western Cape, quoted by Southern Mail
  1. southernmail.co.za
  2. briefly.co.za
View on map →
Cafda Village, Retreat (Bernstein Rd, approx.): man, 41, shot dead, three young men wounded, 18 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Bernstein Road, Cafda Village, Retreat, near the Retreat Community Health Centre (police, via Smile 90.4FM). Exact spot not given. The pin is the middle of Bernstein Road, a short street (about 160 m) in OpenStreetMap.

Crime & Security Sun 18 Oct 2026, police responded at about 15:30 (police, via Smile 90.4FM) Earliest report found: 2026-10-19 Street, within 300 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Western Cape, quoted by Smile 90.4FM, IOL and Southern Mail
  1. smilefm.co.za
  2. iol.co.za
  3. southernmail.co.za
View on map →
Firethorne, near Geelhout St (map point inferred): man, 33, shot dead, 17 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

'In front of a premises in Firethorne, near Geelhout Street' (police, via Athlone News); address not given. 'Firethorne' is not a suburb or street in OpenStreetMap. The pin is INFERRED: the midpoint of Geelhout Road, Bonteheuwel (OSM ways 704572595 and 30349364, about 448 m), which meets Firethorn Street (OSM way 30349369) at both ends of its loop, inside the Bishop Lavis police area per the 22 Oct source check. The spelling differs (Firethorn) and the article gives no street-level location; the point marks the area, not the scene. OSM 'Geelhout Street' in the Lotus River area (Ward 65) is a different street and is not used.

Crime & Security Sat 17 Oct 2026 at about 23:05 (police, via Athlone News) Earliest report found: 2026-10-22 Street, within 400 m inferred One report only Rests on: SAPS Western Cape (Lt Col FC van Wyk), quoted by Athlone News
  1. athlonenews.co.za
View on map →
Mbulawa Location, Mqanduli (town only, approx.): wanted murder suspect shot dead by police after chase, 17 Oct Eastern Cape
Where exactly

Mbulawa Location, Mqanduli, after a chase on the R411 towards Coffee Bay (SAPS). Mbulawa is not in OpenStreetMap or GeoNames; the pin is GeoNames' point for Mqanduli town, inside the Mqanduli SAPS precinct.

Crime & Security Sat 17 Oct 2026, about 14:30 (Pondoland Times; SAPS: Saturday) Earliest report found: 2026-10-18 Town, within 20,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Eastern Cape (statement of 18 Oct)
  1. pondolandtimes.co.za
  2. novanews.co.za
  3. citizen.co.za
  4. ewn.co.za
  5. sundayworld.co.za
  6. algoafm.co.za
View on map →
Modimola Village, Mahikeng (village only, approx.): man, 37, stabbed dead, 17 Oct North West
Where exactly

Modimola Village, west of Mahikeng, named by SAPS. No street or house is given. The pin is OpenStreetMap's point for Modimola.

Crime & Security Sat 17 Oct 2026, about 04:00 (SAPS) Earliest report found: 2026-10-18 Village, within 2,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS North West: an 18 Oct statement covering both Mmabatho killings
  1. novanews.co.za
  2. ewn.co.za
View on map →
Madonsi Boltman B, Malamulele (approx.): comedian Skeem Mafenya, 20, stabbed to death; three arrested, 17 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

Inside a yard at Madonsi Boltman B, Malamulele policing area (police, via EWN and Limpopo Chronicle). SABC News calls it Madonsi-Shitasini village, near a tavern. No address. The pin is the Ka-Madonsi village point on OpenStreetMap, inside the Malamulele police precinct; approximate, village level (about 4 km).

Crime & Security Sat 17 Oct 2026, reported to police at about 03:35 (police, via EWN, Limpopo Chronicle and SABC News) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-17 Village, within 4,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Limpopo (media statement of 17 Oct and arrest update), quoted by EWN, Limpopo Chronicle and SABC News 2 conflicting facts
  1. ewn.co.za
  2. limpopochronicle.co.za
  3. sabcnews.com
View on map →
Seweding Village, Mahikeng (village only, approx.): man, 37, dies in fight with girlfriend's brother, 17 Oct North West
Where exactly

Seweding Village, Mahikeng (Mmabatho), named by SAPS. No street or house is given. The pin is OpenStreetMap's point for Seweding.

Crime & Security Sat 17 Oct 2026, early hours; police found him dead at about 00:45 (SAPS). SABC says Sunday time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-18 Village, within 2,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS North West: an 18 Oct statement covering both Mmabatho killings 1 conflicting fact
  1. ewn.co.za
  2. sabcnews.com
  3. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Upper Signal Hill, Newcastle (approx.): faulty Milky Way pump, eight streets without water from about 11 Oct (resident), confirmed 17 Oct KwaZulu-Natal
Where exactly

Upper Signal Hill, Newcastle: Capricorn, Star Crescent, Pisces, Meteor, Lunar, Gemini, Sun and Libra streets; the Milky Way pump station (Newcastle Advertiser). The pin is the Signal Hill suburb point from OpenStreetMap, inside the Newcastle police precinct. The affected streets and the pump station are not on the map, so they are not pinned; approximate, suburb level (about 1.5 km).

Infrastructure Without water since about Sun 11 Oct 2026 according to a resident (six days by 17 Oct); the municipality confirmed the faulty pump in a statement on Sat 17 Oct 2026 and gave no start date (Newcastle Advertiser). The pin date is 17 Oct. report date: when it happened is not stated Earliest report found: 2026-10-17 Suburb, within 1,500 m One report only Rests on: Newcastle Municipality statement of 17 Oct 2026, reported by the Newcastle Advertiser 1 conflicting fact
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
Tafelsig, Mitchells Plain (Hugenot St / AZ Berman Dr, approx.): body found burning, 17 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Corner of Hugenot Street and AZ Berman Drive, Tafelsig. The pin is near the corner; OpenStreetMap spells it Huguenot.

Crime & Security Found Sat 17 Oct 2026 (EWN, quoting Ian Cameron); time not given time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-18 Spot, within 200 m One outlet only Rests on: Police
  1. ewn.co.za
  2. ewn.co.za
View on map →
Matswale Phase 12, Musina (map point estimated): liquor store owner, 37, shot dead in his store; no arrest, 16 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

ESTIMATED MAP POINT. Inside his liquor store at Matswale Phase 12, Musina (police, via Limpopo Mirror); no street or address given. Matswale Phase 12 was not found on a map (OpenStreetMap Overpass and Nominatim searches returned no Matswale feature). The pin is the Musina-Nancefield township point from the in-repo gazetteer (GeoNames), used only as a reference inside the Musina police precinct; it is not confirmed that Phase 12 lies in Nancefield. Uncertainty about 5 km. Not the store.

Crime & Security Fri 16 Oct 2026, about 20:00 (police, via Limpopo Mirror) Earliest report found: 2026-10-22 Town, within 5,000 m One report only Rests on: Vhembe SAPS (Capt Vuledzani Dathi), quoted by Limpopo Mirror
  1. limpopomirror.co.za
View on map →
Asanda Village, Strand (Christmas Tinto Park, approx.): man, 35, stabbed and set alight, 16 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Christmas Tinto Park, opposite Christmas Tinto Primary School and near the Asanda Village Wetland Park, Asanda Village, Strand (Voice of the Cape, District Mail). Daily Voice calls the area Zola Village. The park is not on the map; the pin is about 80 m from the primary school.

Crime & Security Found still burning Fri 16 Oct 2026, about 06:30 (police). District Mail quotes police saying the victim was allegedly attacked in Celiwe Street around 03:00 and dumped at the park afterwards. time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-16 Spot, within 200 m Partly independent Rests on: Police
  1. novanews.co.za
  2. vocfm.co.za
  3. dailyvoice.co.za
View on map →
Epping, Cape Town (Fisher Ave, approx.): 2 men shot dead in taxi attack, 16 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Fisher Avenue, Epping 1, named by SAPS. The pin is on that street; the exact spot was not given.

Crime & Security Fri 16 Oct 2026, about 06:00 (SAPS) Earliest report found: 2026-10-17 Street, within 500 m Partly independent Rests on: SAPS: a 17 Oct statement and an 18 Oct arrest statement
  1. iol.co.za
  2. capetownetc.com
  3. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Polokwane (map point estimated): Capricorn TVET College official, 58, arrested in a police sting over an alleged R100,000 bribe, 16 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

ESTIMATED MAP POINT. The report says the operation was 'in Polokwane' and does not say where, or which campus the official works at. The pin is the Polokwane town point from the place-name list, used as a reference only; it is not the arrest scene or a college campus. Town level (about 8 km).

Priority Intelligence Arrested on Fri 16 Oct 2026 in a police entrapment operation; time not given (police, via Limpopo Chronicle). Earliest report found: 2026-10-16 Town, within 8,000 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Limpopo, reported by Limpopo Chronicle
  1. limpopochronicle.co.za
View on map →
Seshego (map point estimated): 43 learners from one school taken to hospital with stomach illness, reported 16 Oct; cause not confirmed Limpopo
Where exactly

ESTIMATED MAP POINT. M.E. Makgato Secondary School, Seshego (health department, via SABC News). The school is not on OpenStreetMap, so the pin is the Seshego suburb point, used as a reference only, not the school. Suburb level (about 3 km).

Africa & World Reported by the Limpopo Department of Health on Fri 16 Oct 2026 (SABC News); when the learners fell ill is not given. The pin date is the report date. report date: when it happened is not stated Earliest report found: 2026-10-16 Suburb, within 3,000 m One account, repeated Rests on: Limpopo Department of Health (spokesperson Neil Shikwambana), reported by SABC News and Briefly News
  1. sabcnews.com
  2. briefly.co.za
View on map →
Hanover Park (Suria Walk, approx.): man, 37, shot dead, 15 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Suria Walk, Hanover Park (exact spot not given). The pin is on the walkway.

Crime & Security Thu 15 Oct 2026, about 06:05 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-15 Street, within 300 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. dailyvoice.co.za
View on map →
Farm near Worcester (approx.): man, 24, found shot dead, 14 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

A farm between Overhex and MaGwaleni, Zwelethemba, outside Worcester. The farm is not named, so the pin marks the general area.

Crime & Security Body found Wed 14 Oct 2026, morning (time of death not given) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-15 Farm, within 5,000 m One report only Rests on: Worcester police
  1. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Nkuri-Tomu village, near Giyani (approx.): woman, 35, shot dead at home; husband, 73, arrested, 13 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

At a house in Nkuri-Tomu village, near Giyani (police, via Jacaranda FM and Daily Sun). No address. The pin is the Ka-Nkuri village point on OpenStreetMap, inside the Giyani police precinct; approximate, village level (about 4 km). Tomu is part of the village name in the reports and is not separately mapped.

Crime & Security Tue 13 Oct 2026, at about 23:00 (police, via Jacaranda FM and Daily Sun) Earliest report found: 2026-10-15 Village, within 4,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Limpopo (media statement of 14 Oct), quoted by Jacaranda FM and retold by Daily Sun
  1. jacarandafm.com
  2. snl24.com
View on map →
Komkhulu, Konkwana near Willowvale (town only, approx.): headman, 44, and his mother, 70, shot dead, 13 Oct Eastern Cape
Where exactly

Komkhulu locality, Konkwana administrative area, near Willowvale (SAPS). Neither place is in OpenStreetMap, and GeoNames' places named Komkhulu are in other municipalities. The pin is Willowvale town, the same point as the Willowvale Extension 1 pin; the homestead may be well outside town.

Crime & Security Tue 13 Oct 2026, about 18:45 (SAPS) Earliest report found: 2026-10-14 Town, within 20,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Eastern Cape
  1. dispatch.co.za
  2. citizen.co.za
  3. ewn.co.za
  4. joburgetc.com
  5. novanews.co.za
  6. komani.co.za
View on map →
Khayelitsha (Trekker Rd, area only, approx.): man, 25, shot dead, 13 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Trekker Road near an Engen garage, Khayelitsha. Trekker Road could not be found on the map, so the pin is a general Khayelitsha point, not the scene.

Crime & Security Tue 13 Oct 2026, about 17:00 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-14 Area, within 3,000 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. dailyvoice.co.za
View on map →
Sekurung village, Lebowakgomo police area (map point estimated): girl, 2, taken from home and killed; woman, 20, arrested, 13 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

ESTIMATED MAP POINT. Sekurung village and Sekurung Mountain, in the Lebowakgomo police area (police, via Review Online and Limpopo Chronicle). The village could not be placed on a map: place-name lookups found no Sekurung, and two OpenStreetMap searches returned no data at all, so whether it is mapped is neither confirmed nor ruled out. The pin is on the Lebowakgomo police station (SAPS station point), used only as a reference for the police area that handled the case. It is not the scene or the village. The village may be anywhere in the Lebowakgomo police area, up to about 32 km from the pin. Being near the Mamaolo pin is not a link.

Crime & Security Tue 13 Oct 2026; kidnapping reported at about 11:55, body found on Sekurung Mountain (police, via Review Online and Limpopo Chronicle) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-15 Precinct, within 32,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Limpopo (media statement of 14 Oct), carried by Review Online and Limpopo Chronicle
  1. citizen.co.za
  2. limpopochronicle.co.za
View on map →
Malope Section, Masemola police area (approx.): man dies after being held as a burglary suspect; two charged with murder, 13 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

At a residence in Malope Section, in the Masemola police area, Sekhukhune District (police, on X). No address. Malope Section could not be confirmed on a map: OpenStreetMap has a place called Malope about 12 km west of the Masemola police station, but nothing shows it is this section. The pin is the Ga-Masemola town point (the owner's choice, 22 Oct), wide enough (about 15 km) to cover both. It is not the scene.

Crime & Security Tue 13 Oct 2026, police called at about 04:00 (SAPS, on X) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-14 Town, within 15,000 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Limpopo, posted by SAPS (@SAPoliceService) on X
  1. x.com
View on map →
Sebothe St, Soweto-on-Sea, Gqeberha (suburb only, approx.): woman, 86, and man, 21, found shot dead at home, 12 Oct Eastern Cape
Where exactly

Sebothe Street, Soweto-on-Sea (SAPS). The street is not in OpenStreetMap; the pin is OpenStreetMap's point for Soweto on Sea, inside the Kwazakele precinct, whose police are investigating.

Crime & Security Mon 12 Oct 2026, found about 01:20 (SAPS) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-12 Suburb, within 1,500 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Eastern Cape
  1. theherald.co.za
  2. algoafm.co.za
  3. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Langa, Zone 5 (Teenage Vuso St, approx.): 2 men, 20 and 25, shot dead in parked car, 12 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Teenage Vuso Street, Zone 5, Langa (exact spot not given). The pin is on the street.

Crime & Security Mon 12 Oct 2026, evening ('Monday evening' in reports of 13-14 Oct; time not given) Earliest report found: 2026-10-13 Street, within 300 m One account, repeated Rests on: Police and a community leader
  1. vocfm.co.za
  2. capeargus.co.za
View on map →
Rostock village, Mecklenburg police area (map point estimated): man, 18, dies after mob attack, 11 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

ESTIMATED MAP POINT. Rostock village, outside Burgersfort, in the Mecklenburg police area (police, via TimesLIVE and SABC News). The village could not be placed on a map: place-name lookups found no Rostock village, and two OpenStreetMap searches returned no data at all, so whether the village is mapped is neither confirmed nor ruled out. The pin is on the Mecklenburg police station (SAPS station point), used only as a reference for the police area that handled the case. It is not the scene, the village or the hospital. The village may be anywhere in the Mecklenburg police area, up to about 27 km from the pin.

Crime & Security Sun 11 Oct 2026, at about 18:00 (SAPS statement quoted by SABC News) Earliest report found: 2026-10-12 Precinct, within 27,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Limpopo (media statement of 12 Oct), quoted by TimesLIVE and SABC News
  1. timeslive.co.za
  2. sabcnews.com
View on map →
Seshego Hospital substation, Seshego (approx.): switch stripped, cables damaged, about R500,000; police seek suspects, 11 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

At the Seshego Hospital substation on Bookelo Street, Seshego, Polokwane (police, via Review Online). The pin is the Seshego Hospital point from OpenStreetMap, inside the Seshego police precinct. Bookelo Street could not be found on the map, so the substation itself is not pinned; approximate, street level (about 500 m).

Infrastructure Found on Sun 11 Oct 2026 at about 17:00, when a municipal electrician responded to a power complaint at the hospital (police, via Review Online). When the tampering happened is not stated. time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-14 Street, within 500 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Limpopo, published by Review Online as a press release
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
Gardenia St, Duncan Village, KuGompo City (suburb only, approx.): off-duty police sergeant stabbed dead, 11 Oct Eastern Cape
Where exactly

Gardenia Street, Duncan Village, KuGompo City (East London), per the Hawks. The only Gardenia Street OpenStreetMap finds in KuGompo City is in Lennox Estate, not Duncan Village, so it was not used. The pin is GeoNames' point for Duncan Village, inside the Duncan Village SAPS precinct.

Crime & Security Sun 11 Oct 2026, about 16:30 (Hawks) Earliest report found: 2026-10-13 Suburb, within 1,500 m All from police statements Rests on: The Hawks (DPCI, part of SAPS)
  1. dispatch.co.za
  2. dispatch.co.za
  3. citizen.co.za
  4. sabcnews.com
  5. sundayworld.co.za
  6. joburgetc.com
  7. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Great Brak River (Green Haven, approx.): man, 52, stabbed dead at home, 11 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

A house in Green Haven, Wolwedans, Great Brak River. The pin is the Greenhaven area point, not the house.

Crime & Security Sun 11 Oct 2026, just before 16:00 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-12 Area, within 1,500 m One report only Rests on: Police (no spokesperson named)
  1. mosselbayadvertiser.com
View on map →
Neltox, Tshamutumbu police area (map point estimated): man shot dead after exchange of fire with SANDF patrol; police investigating, 11 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

ESTIMATED MAP POINT. In the bushes in the Neltox area, Tshamutumbu policing area, near the Zimbabwe border (police, via Limpopo Mirror). Neltox was not found on a map (OpenStreetMap Overpass and Nominatim searches returned no Neltox feature). The pin is the Tshamutumbu SAPS station point (in-repo gazetteer, station points v1.2.5, 2021), used only as a reference; uncertainty is the farthest point of the Tshamutumbu precinct outline from the station, 34.5 km, rounded up to 35 km. Not the scene. Its own precinct, so not merged into Musina.

Crime & Security Sun 11 Oct 2026; the man was found shot dead at about 10:30 (police, via Limpopo Mirror). The time of the exchange of fire itself is not given. time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-15 Precinct, within 35,000 m One report only Rests on: Vhembe SAPS (Capt Vuledzani Dathi), quoted by Limpopo Mirror
  1. limpopomirror.co.za
View on map →
Wesbank (Reindeer St, approx.): boy, 14, shot dead, teen wounded, 10 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Corner of Reindeer Street, Wesbank (exact spot not given). OpenStreetMap has it as Reindeer Crescent; the pin is on it.

Crime & Security Sat 10 Oct 2026, about 20:10 (police, TygerBurger 12 Oct). TygerBurger's follow-up of 13 Oct wrongly says 17 October. Earliest report found: 2026-10-12 Street, within 300 m One outlet only Rests on: Police 1 conflicting fact
  1. novanews.co.za
  2. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Belgravia, Athlone (approx.): woman, 65, and man shot dead, 10 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Belgravia, Athlone. Suburb only, so the pin is the suburb's map point, not the scene.

Crime & Security Sat 10 Oct 2026, about 19:00 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-11 Suburb, within 1,500 m All from police statements Rests on: Police
  1. sabcnews.com
  2. capetownetc.com
View on map →
Farm near Amersfoort (map point estimated): farm worker, about 50, shot dead in hostage incident; gunman then shot himself, 10 Oct Mpumalanga
Where exactly

ESTIMATED MAP POINT. A farm near Amersfoort, Gert Sibande District (police, via The Citizen). The farm is not named. The pin is on the Amersfoort police station (SAPS station point), used only as a reference; the report does not name the station. It is not the scene. The farm may be anywhere in the Amersfoort police area, up to about 43 km from the pin.

Crime & Security Sat 10 Oct 2026; police called at about 06:00 (police, via The Citizen) Earliest report found: 2026-10-10 Precinct, within 43,000 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Mpumalanga, quoted by The Citizen
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
Musina township (approx.): low water supply after an electrical breakdown leaves several Limpopo River boreholes down, 10 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

Several boreholes along the Limpopo River; low supply in Musina Township and surrounding areas (Vhembe District Municipality). GroundUp reported from Campbell township, Musina. The pin is the Musina town point from the place-name list, inside the Musina police precinct; the boreholes are not pinned. Approximate, town level (about 5 km).

Infrastructure Boreholes down when the notice was issued on Sat 10 Oct 2026; start of the breakdown not stated (Vhembe District Municipality). Supply still unreliable when GroundUp visited on 15 Oct. report date: when it happened is not stated Earliest report found: 2026-10-10 Town, within 5,000 m Partly independent Rests on: Vhembe District Municipality Communication Services (notice)
  1. vhembe.gov.za
  2. groundup.org.za
View on map →
Cafda, Retreat (approx.): man, 30, and woman, 46, shot dead at home, 9 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Cafda Village, Retreat. Reports differ on the street (Ensor or Enzo), so the pin is the suburb's map point.

Crime & Security Fri 9 Oct 2026, about 09:15 (SAPS) Earliest report found: 2026-10-14 Suburb, within 1,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS, including its arrest statement 1 conflicting fact
  1. iol.co.za
  2. novanews.co.za
  3. ccnews.co.za
View on map →
Ipelegeng, Schweizer-Reneke (Kgaka St, approx.): man, 22, found stabbed dead, 9 Oct North West
Where exactly

Kgaka Street, Ipelegeng, Schweizer-Reneke (Taung Daily News). No spot on the street is given. The pin is the middle of Kgaka Street as OpenStreetMap maps it, the only street of that name in Schweizer-Reneke. OpenStreetMap does not label the township, so that this street is in Ipelegeng rests on the report. Police station not named.

Crime & Security Fri 9 Oct 2026; found after 20:00 (Taung Daily News, quoting police) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-13 Street, within 300 m One report only Rests on: Police, quoted by Taung Daily News (no SAPS statement found)
  1. taungdailynews.com
View on map →
Lillydale Trust, Calcutta police area (approx.): Marvel and Ayanda Khosa, mother and daughter, shot dead; gunman then shot himself, 8 Oct Mpumalanga
Where exactly

At a family meeting in Lillydale Trust, in the Calcutta police area (police, via Lowvelder). No address given. The pin is the Lillydale village point from the place-name list, inside the Calcutta police precinct; approximate, village level (about 4 km). The place-name list files that point under Limpopo; the place is in Bushbuckridge, Mpumalanga, and the pin falls inside the Mpumalanga Calcutta precinct.

Crime & Security Thu 8 Oct 2026 at 16:00 (police, via Lowvelder) Earliest report found: 2026-10-10 Village, within 4,000 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Mpumalanga, quoted by Lowvelder
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
D'Almeida, Mossel Bay (open field, approx.): man found stabbed dead, 8 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Open field between D'Almeida and Albert Luthuli Park, near Mountain View, Mossel Bay. The field is not on the map, so the pin is the D'Almeida suburb point.

Crime & Security Body found Thu 8 Oct 2026, about 10:50 (police); time of death not given time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-08 Suburb, within 1,500 m One outlet only Rests on: Police: the first report, then an arrest update
  1. mosselbayadvertiser.com
  2. mosselbayadvertiser.com
View on map →
Polokwane (approx.): water outage while Pump Station 3 is stopped to repair two pipeline leaks, outside PS2 and at Ga-Maja, about 8 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

Two leaks on the bulk line, one just outside Pump Station 2 and one at Ga-Maja; the outage covered parts of Polokwane (Polokwane Municipality, via Review Online). The pin is the Polokwane town point from the place-name list and stands for the affected area. Neither leak is pinned: Pump Station 2 could not be placed, and Ga-Maja is about 28 km south. Approximate, town level (about 15 km).

Infrastructure About Thu 8 Oct 2026: the notice was published that morning; the day the pump station was stopped is not stated (Polokwane Municipality, via Review Online). Repairs estimated at about eight hours. report date: when it happened is not stated Earliest report found: 2026-10-08 Town, within 15,000 m One report only Rests on: Polokwane Municipality notice, published by Review Online as a press release
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
Kuzwayo St, KwaZakhele, Gqeberha (street, approx.): two men found shot dead at a car, 7 Oct Eastern Cape
Where exactly

Kuzwayo Street, KwaZakhele (SAPS). OpenStreetMap has three short streets of that name within about 1 km, all in the New Brighton precinct, whose officers responded. The pin is the one not labelled Soweto on Sea; the exact spot is not given.

Crime & Security Wed 7 Oct 2026, found about 19:40 (SAPS) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-09 Street, within 1,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Eastern Cape
  1. theherald.co.za
  2. sabcnews.com
  3. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Imizamo Yethu, Hout Bay (OR Tambo Rd, approx.): man, 34, shot dead, 7 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

OR Tambo Road, Imizamo Yethu (exact spot not given). The pin is on the road.

Crime & Security Wed 7 Oct 2026, about 19:19 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-08 Street, within 500 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. sentinelnews.co.za
View on map →
St Montague Village, Lavender Hill area (St Bernard St, approx.): man, 31, shot dead, 7 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

St Bernard Street, St Montague Village (exact spot not given). OpenStreetMap has it as Saint Bernard Crescent; the pin is on it.

Crime & Security Wed 7 Oct 2026, about 11:45 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-07 Street, within 300 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. southernmail.co.za
View on map →
Bonteheuwel (Jakkalsvlei Ave, approx.): man, 43, shot dead, 6 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Jakkalsvlei Avenue, Bonteheuwel (exact spot not given). The pin is on the Bonteheuwel end of the avenue.

Crime & Security Tue 6 Oct 2026, about 23:06 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-07 Street, within 500 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. dailyvoice.co.za
View on map →
Willowvale Extension 1, Mbhashe (town only, approx.): five young men shot dead, one wounded, 6 Oct Eastern Cape
Where exactly

Willowvale Extension 1 informal settlement, near Ematyotyombeni, Willowvale (SAPS, Dispatch). The settlement is not mapped; the pin is GeoNames' point for Willowvale town, inside the Willowvale SAPS precinct.

Crime & Security Tue 6 Oct 2026, about 21:50 (SAPS; Dispatch: about 9.51pm) Earliest report found: 2026-10-07 Town, within 5,000 m Partly independent Rests on: SAPS Eastern Cape
  1. dispatch.co.za
  2. theherald.co.za
  3. dispatch.co.za
  4. algoafm.co.za
  5. komani.co.za
  6. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Mtshekisani St, Kwadwesi, Gqeberha (suburb only, approx.): four men shot dead by police in reported shootout, 6 Oct Eastern Cape
Where exactly

Mtshekisani Street, in the Kwadwesi or Kwazakele policing precinct (SAPS gives both). The street is not in OpenStreetMap; the pin is OpenStreetMap's point for the KwaDwesi suburb, so it may be some way off.

Crime & Security Tue 6 Oct 2026, about 20:00 (SAPS) Earliest report found: 2026-10-07 Suburb, within 3,000 m All from police statements Rests on: SAPS Eastern Cape (statement of 7 Oct)
  1. sabcnews.com
View on map →
Lavender Hill (Depsiton Cres, approx.): 2 men shot dead, woman wounded, 6 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Muir Court, Depsiton Crescent, Lavender Hill. Muir Court is not on the map, so the pin is Depsiton Crescent.

Crime & Security Tue 6 Oct 2026, shortly after 08:00 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-06 Street, within 300 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. southernmail.co.za
View on map →
Site B, Khayelitsha (area only, approx.): 2 men, 36 and 39, shot dead, 6 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Masikhanye, Site B, Khayelitsha. Masikhanye could not be found on the map, so the pin is a general Site B point, not the scene.

Crime & Security Tue 6 Oct 2026, about 04:30 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-06 Area, within 2,000 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Belgravia Rd, Athlone (near Heatherdale Primary, approx.): man, 31, shot dead, 6 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Belgravia Road, outside Heatherdale Primary School, Athlone. The pin is the school; the exact spot on the road is not given.

Crime & Security Tue 6 Oct 2026, morning (time not given) Earliest report found: 2026-10-06 Spot, within 200 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. capetownetc.com
View on map →
Doornpan Farm near Ottosdal (farm area, approx.): woman, 55, attacked at farm gate, died, 5 Oct North West
Where exactly

Doornpan Farm, outside Ottosdal, about 17 km from the town's police station (Klerksdorp Record, DA). No source gives the farm's position. The pin is a place-name database's point for a Doornpan farm about 19 km south-west of Ottosdal (GeoNames, via Mapcarta), which may not be the same farm. Municipality not confirmed: that database puts it in Tswaing (Ngaka Modiri Molema district), but if the farm is in Maquassi Hills it is in the Dr Kenneth Kaunda district. The DA calls it the Ottosdal/Wolmaransstad area.

Crime & Security Mon 5 Oct 2026, about 19:00 (Klerksdorp Record); date not supplied in the saved SAPS statement Earliest report found: 2026-10-07 Farm, within 10,000 m Partly independent Rests on: SAPS North West: a 7 Oct statement 2 conflicting facts
  1. taungdailynews.com
  2. northwestnewspapers.co.za
  3. taungdailynews.com
  4. platinumweekly.co.za
View on map →
Mashawana mountain, Thohoyandou police area (approx.): two unidentified men found dead; cause unknown, police investigating, 4 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

A remote mountainous part of Mashawana mountain; the report names the communities of Mashawana and Dzwerani, Thulamela municipality, and Thohoyandou police are investigating. The mountain is not in the gazetteer or OpenStreetMap, so the pin is the Dzwerani village point from GeoNames. That point falls just inside the Vuwani precinct outline, about 3.3 km from the Thohoyandou precinct edge, so the scene is probably a few kilometres from the pin. Approximate, village level (about 6 km).

Crime & Security Found at about 13:30 on Sun 4 Oct 2026 by a cattle herder; when the men died is not known (Limpopo Mirror). Cause of death unknown; Thohoyandou police are investigating (police, via Limpopo Mirror). time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-08 Village, within 6,000 m One report only Rests on: Vhembe police spokesperson, quoted by Limpopo Mirror
  1. limpopomirror.co.za
View on map →
Mawethu Tavern, Bholotwa (village only, approx.): one dead during police call-out, cause not confirmed, 4 Oct Eastern Cape
Where exactly

Mawethu Tavern, Bholotwa, named by Komani News; the tavern itself is not mapped. The pin is OpenStreetMap's point for Bolotwa village (Intsika Yethu, Chris Hani), which lies in the SAPS Bholothwa precinct (2019 boundaries). Another Bolotwa in Mbhashe (GeoNames) was not used: the report names Bholotwa police and comes from a Chris Hani paper. Municipality not stated by any source.

Crime & Security Sun 4 Oct 2026, after about 01:15, when police were called back (Komani News, quoting SAPS) Earliest report found: 2026-10-04 Village, within 3,000 m One report only Rests on: Police, quoted by Komani News (no SAPS newsroom statement found)
  1. komani.co.za
View on map →
Siyabuswa (town only, approx.): William Malapane, 44, stabbed at home; wife arrested, 4 Oct Mpumalanga
Where exactly

At the couple's home in Siyabuswa (police, via Middelburg Observer). No address or section given. The pin is the Siyabuswa town point from the place-name list, inside the Siyabuswa police precinct; approximate, town level (about 5 km).

Crime & Security Declared dead at about 02:00; arrest on Sun 4 Oct 2026 (police, via Middelburg Observer). The date of death is not stated; it is read from the arrest date. Earliest report found: 2026-10-19 Town, within 5,000 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Mpumalanga, quoted by Middelburg Observer
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
Near Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane (approx.): man, 29, assaulted by a group, dies in hospital, 4 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

Near the stadium, in the early hours after a show at the Peter Mokaba rugby field, Polokwane (police, via Review Online). No street or exact spot given. The pin is the Peter Mokaba Stadium map point, inside the Polokwane police precinct; approximate, within about 1.5 km. It is not the scene.

Crime & Security Sun 4 Oct 2026, early hours (police, via Review Online) Earliest report found: 2026-10-16 Area, within 1,500 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Limpopo, quoted by Review Online
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
N2 Gateway, Delft (Bagzane St, approx.): man, 20, found dead with neck injuries, 4 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Bagzane Street, N2 Gateway, Delft (exact spot not given). The pin is on the street.

Crime & Security Found Sun 4 Oct 2026, morning (time of death not given) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-04 Street, within 300 m Partly independent Rests on: Police
  1. dailyvoice.co.za
  2. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Asla Park, Mossel Bay (Dunjwa St, approx.): man, 19, stabbed dead, 4 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Dunjwa Street, Asla Park, KwaNonqaba, named by police. The pin is on that street; the exact spot was not given.

Crime & Security 4 Oct 2026 (time not given) Earliest report found: 2026-10-13 Street, within 300 m One report only Rests on: Southern Cape police
  1. mosselbayadvertiser.com
View on map →
Voorbrug, Delft (Camdeboo St, approx.): 2 men shot dead, 3 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Camdeboo Street, Anceba Court, Voorbrug, Delft (exact spot not given). OpenStreetMap has the street as Camdeboo Crescent; the pin is on it.

Crime & Security Sat 3 Oct 2026, about 18:40 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-04 Street, within 300 m Partly independent Rests on: Police
  1. dailyvoice.co.za
  2. novanews.co.za
View on map →
Volmoed, Oudtshoorn (farm area, approx.): girl, 17, found dead, 3 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

A house in Kliplokasie on Volmoed farm, Oudtshoorn. The farm house is not on the map, so the pin is the Volmoed area point.

Crime & Security Sat 3 Oct 2026, night (article of Wed 7 Oct says 'Saturday night') Earliest report found: 2026-10-07 Farm, within 5,000 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. capeargus.co.za
View on map →
Hawston, Overstrand (Nasson St, approx.): man, 28, stabbed dead, 2 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Nasson Street, Hawston (exact spot not given). The pin is on the street.

Crime & Security Fri 2 Oct 2026, about 23:00 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-04 Street, within 300 m One report only Rests on: Police
  1. dailyvoice.co.za
View on map →
Thusi Village, Ermelo police area (map point estimated): woman, 27, found dead after alleged assault; man, 31, charged with murder, 2 Oct Mpumalanga
Where exactly

ESTIMATED MAP POINT. Thusi Village, near Ermelo (police, via Highvelder News; Ermelo dateline and Ermelo Magistrate's Court). The village could not be placed on a map: the place-name lookups found no Thusi village, and a nearby colliery point mentioned in the review note could not be confirmed from the saved lookups. The pin is on the Ermelo police station (SAPS station point), used only as a reference; the report does not name the station. It is not the scene. The village may be anywhere in the Ermelo police area, up to about 44 km from the pin.

Crime & Security Arrest on Fri 2 Oct 2026; found dead the same call-out, time not given (police, via Highvelder News) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-05 Precinct, within 44,000 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Mpumalanga, quoted by Highvelder News
  1. citizen.co.za
View on map →
Mamaolo village, Ga-Mphahlele (Maribeng Section, approx.): tavern owner, 53, found murdered and robbed, 2 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

At his tavern business premises at Ga-Mphahlele, Maribeng Section, Mamaolo village, outside Lebowakgomo (police, via SABC News). Address not given. Maribeng Section was not found on a map and Mamaolo has no village point in the place-name lookups used; the pin is the centre of the mapped Mamaolo landmarks (school, taxi rank, cemetery, fuel station), inside the Lebowakgomo police precinct. Approximate, village level (about 3 km).

Crime & Security Fri 2 Oct 2026, found by his sister; time not given (SAPS Limpopo statement of 2 Oct; SABC News) time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-03 Village, within 3,000 m One report only Rests on: SAPS Limpopo (media statement of 2 Oct), quoted by SABC News
  1. sabcnews.com
View on map →
Beacon Valley, Mitchells Plain (Trampoline St, approx.): man, 43, shot dead, 1 Oct Western Cape
Where exactly

Trampoline Street, Beacon Valley (exact spot not given). The pin is the middle of the street, which OpenStreetMap places on the Eastridge side of Beacon Valley.

Crime & Security Thu 1 Oct 2026, 11:10 (police) Earliest report found: 2026-10-01 Street, within 300 m One report only Rests on: Provincial police
  1. plainsman.co.za
View on map →
Madombidzha village, Tshilwavhusiku police area (approx.): man, 53, found dead in his shack; cause unknown, inquest opened, 1 Oct Limpopo
Where exactly

In a shack at his home in Madombidzha village, Makhado municipality; no address given (Limpopo Mirror). The pin is the Madombidzha village point from GeoNames, inside the Tshilwavhusiku police precinct outline and outside the Louis Trichardt (Makhado) precinct, about 13 km south-west of Makhado police station. Approximate, village level (about 3 km).

Crime & Security Found Thu 1 Oct 2026 by a friend; last seen alive Sat 26 Sep 2026; time of death unknown (family, via Limpopo Mirror). Cause of death unknown; Tshilwavhusiku police opened an inquest docket (police, via Limpopo Mirror). time body was found Earliest report found: 2026-10-08 Village, within 3,000 m One account, repeated Rests on: Vhembe police spokesperson (inquest docket), quoted by Limpopo Mirror 1 conflicting fact
  1. limpopomirror.co.za
  2. citizen.co.za
View on map →
What each CSV column means
signal_id
FORGE's ID for the pin.
short_id
First 8 characters of the ID, as used in map links.
title
The pin's title on the map.
province
Province of the batch the pin was published in.
stream
The map stream the pin is filed under, as named in the map's Streams panel: Crime & Security, Infrastructure, Priority Intelligence or Africa & World.
incident_start
When the incident happened or began, as best the reports allow (ISO 8601).
incident_precision
How exact incident_start is: time, approx_time, part_of_day or day.
incident_event
occurred = when it happened; found = when a body was found.
incident_date_basis
What incident_start stands for. incident = when it happened or began (or was found); report = the sources never say when it happened, so it is the report or notice date; later_step = an arrest, charge or court date in an older case, whose earlier date is in incident_described.
incident_described
The incident time in words, with who gave it.
reported_at
Date of the earliest report found (not proven to be the first).
location_described
Where the reports place it, and what the map point marks.
latitude
Map point latitude, rounded to 5 decimals. Not an exact scene.
longitude
Map point longitude, rounded to 5 decimals. Not an exact scene.
map_precision
What the map point stands for: spot, street, area, suburb, village, town, farm or precinct (an estimate for the police area only).
uncertainty_m
How far, at most, the real place can plausibly be from the point, in metres.
location_basis
reported = the reports name this place; inferred = FORGE's reading of a place the reports do not pin down; estimated = the place could not be mapped, so the point stands for the police area that handled the case.
reporting_independence
Whether the reports are independent of each other (most are not).
statement_from
Who the reporting rests on, usually police.
outlets
News outlets that reported it, separated by ' | '.
source_urls
Source article links, separated by ' | '.
source_count
Number of source articles linked.
archived_source_count
How many of those links have a saved archive copy.
fact_conflict_count
Facts on which the reports disagree.
fact_audit
Whether the pin's key facts were checked claim by claim against the sources.
approval_id
The owner approval record this row matches.
pin_version
Version of the pin's approved data.
approved_at
When that approval was given.
published_at
When the pin went on the map.
map_link
The pin on the map (relative to the site).
data_version
Git commit of the pin and approval files this export was built from.